My loss is Heaven’s gain

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

I am coming up on the 5 year anniversary of one of the biggest losses in my life; the death of my grandfather. I think about him all of the time and when April rolls around, I get more sentimental and teary-eyed. My grandfather was such a strong man, and growing up I thought he was invincible. But cancer has a way of making even the strongest man weak. I am truly thankful for the time that I did have this man in my life. I treasure all of the memories and the namesake that we have of our middle name. I am also thankful that his battle with cancer was extremely short. We got the diagnosis on 4/8 and then 11 days later, his journey here on earth ended, and he began his heavenly journey. I have hope knowing that I will see him again.

Today I would like to share a letter I wrote 5 years ago as I was sitting at the airport in NY on my way to see him in FL. The link to the letter is HERE.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

2 responses to “My loss is Heaven’s gain

  • Nancy Beach

    Thank you for sharing. Your linking the letter to your post was a good choice. It felt like a series the twist mentioned, nice. What a precious man your grandpa must have been. I’ve never heard of cancer taking someone so quickly, sorry for your loss.

    • Stacey

      Thank you Nancy. I didn’t even think that the link was like the twist. I was considering doing other posts on other loss later on. His cancer was very surprising and very aggressive. But I’m thankful that it was so quick so that he didn’t suffer. It was very hard on us because we were all still in shock. Usually people have more time for this diagnosis to sink in and then process it and make plans and grieve

Leave a Reply

