Welcome to the neighborhood

Today’s topic is to publish a post you’d like your ideal audience member to read, and include a new-to-you element in it. Since I blog about anything and everything in my life, I didn’t feel like I have a specific audience to write for.  So I started thinking about life.  And about new things happening in my life.

Yesterdays #blogging101 task was to follow 5 new blogs and 5 topics, as a way of building community here in our virtual world. But what about in your real life? It got me thinking about all of the neighbors I have had. When i was young, I grew up in a very small town, where everybody basically knows everybody. And you definitely knew your neighbors. I remember going to their homes, having them over at our home, doing nice things for each other, etc. While still in grade school, my parents got divorced, so that indirectly started us on the path of moving several times. Each time I would get excited at the thought of a new room, a new neighborhood, new friends, etc. and then each time it got harder and harder for those connections to occur. It became even more apparent moving to southern California, where I didn’t know a soul. Living in the big city has been full of interesting experiences and culture shock for me, and has shown me that the world as I had known it as a little girl, does not exist anymore. It seems like everyone is just focused on themselves or has no time for others, and we can easily overlook those around us. My husband and I just bought our first home and moved in just over a month ago. We did try to approach a couple of the neighbors during the buying process to ask about the neighborhood and area. Two people were willing to talk to us, but some were not so friendly. It’s sad to me, as I sit here in my house, thinking about how so much as changed and that I don’t even know my neighbors name. I don’t foresee any of them inviting us over or us having them over for dinners or get together’s and being all neighborly. Sometimes I think I was meant to have grown up in the 50’s and 60’s. Sigh. This has sparked a challenge in me, though, to intentionally try to be more outgoing with my neighbors when I can. I will purposefully say hi and try to spark up conversation when I see them outside, and welcome the newbies to the neighborhood as they move in (there are a couple houses for sale currently on our street). I will do my part to be welcoming and friendly in my real and my virtual neighborhoods, because you never know when even a simple “hello” from someone could change another person’s day.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

4 responses to “Welcome to the neighborhood

Leave a Reply

