Simplify 4/103

Want to simplify your life?  Here is step #4 of 103:

4. When in doubt, throw it out. If you haven’t used it in 6 months, you probably don’t need it.

Two weeks ago, I moved from a house to an apartment.  For a few weeks leading up to this move, I faced the challenge of downsizing all of my stuff.  I was determined to get rid of clothes that I don’t wear or that don’t fit, items that have just sat around forever gathering dust, things I don’t use anymore, etc.  Trying to be conscious of the environment and others, I decided that I would have a yard sale to see if I could make a little money to put towards the move, and the rest I would donate to the locale Goodwill organization.  I was very pleased with the results, both of my yard sale, netting enough money to cover moving costs, and with the HUGE piles I still had left for my donation.  There were a few boxes of clothes, a box of shoes, and about 8-10 other boxes of STUFF.  Once I moved and got settled in, I continued to keep a few boxes to add to for more donations, as there still seemed to be things I didn’t need or that didn’t fit in the apartment.

All of this has made me realize how we as a society tend to base our worth on our possessions and how we think we NEED all of these things to survive.  I have been on missionary trips to other countries where people barely had anything, they wore clothes that were so worn, and played with toys that were practically unrecognizable, and lived in “homes” constructed out of dirt/cement, with no running water.  Yet these people would give you every last thing they had to welcome you and wouldn’t even hesitate for a second.  They were giving with everything that had, yet here, people have such a hard time giving of their possessions, their time, themselves, etc.  They knew the true meaning of giving and of life….and I want to be more like that.

It really felt good to purge, and to be able to hopefully help others out by donating to them.  I am hoping to start a new habit of going through my things every few months, maybe every 6 months as was recommended, and keep getting rid of things.

Do you go through your things and get rid of them?  How often?  What do you do with it?  How do you feel after?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

8 responses to “Simplify 4/103

  • Joceline

    it’s a great habit to get into. We accumulate way too much stuff even when we try not to. Having a huge garage sale next Saturday and what doesn’t sell is going to Goodwill. I try to purge my closets etc twice a year. If you haven’t worn it in a year, pass it on.

  • lovelylici1986

    This is a big one. I find it much easier to get rid of things as I notice them. For example, I was going through my closet, looking for a shirt to wear. I came to shirt I hadn’t worn in over a year, and couldn’t see myself wearing again. I immediately put it in a plastic bag. I waited for the bag to get full of clothes before I bothered to send it anywhere.

    I recently moved too, and boooyyy, did I come across a lot of things I don’t want/need/use. Off they went to the garbage, and to my aunt who knows of people and places that accept such things.

    We’re really too attached to THINGS when we should focus more on people and relationships.

  • kelworthfiles

    That’s probably a good point – I’m planning on going to Ikea today to get more shelves to organize stuff onto. It’s certainly worth bearing in mind that some things I haven’t used in a while belong in the trash bag instead of on the new shelves.

  • therealsharon

    This is a good one that I need to do! 🙂

  • ElizOF

    I agree we all need to simplify… working on mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

