Ask Me – Question 1

Today’s question, where you can ask me anything, is from my blog buddy Marie.

She asks:  “Is it difficult to live with roommates?”

Currently, I live in a house with 5 other girls.  But I have had many different living situations in my life involving roommates, such as sharing a room with my sister, sharing a college dorm room, living in a sorority house in college with 20+ other girls, living with a boyfriend, and sharing a room with a female roommate in a 2 bedroom apartment with 4 girls.  So I think I have encountered all aspects of roommate situations.

There are positives and negatives about roommates.  Here is what I think off the top of my head:

Positives:

  • You are not alone – you have built in company/companionship
  • You can develop/deepen your relationship to the person/people you are living with
  • There’s someone around you can talk to
  • You can always learn something from the person
  • There is hardly a dull moment
  • You can split the household chores
  • Rent is cheaper 🙂

Negatives:

  • You are never alone – there is always someone around or will be coming home soon, and often times they bring others with them
  • If you don’t have your own bedroom, you have a serious lack of privacy
  • You have no control over other people.   That means that there will be days where your roommates leave their messes anywhere, dirty dishes pile up, people can be really loud when you are trying to sleep, doors get left unlocked, your stuff gets moved or taken, etc.
  • Too many people to fight over the bathroom with

With all my living situations, I have found that it’s best to talk about expectations and set some house rules from the beginning.  That way everyone can have input and be on the same page.  Having some sort of cleaning schedule and laundry schedule is also very helpful, so that you know when things need to be done, and they can be divided up equally.  Also, try to live with people that share similar values and personalities.  When conflicts arise (not if, since it most definitely will) always try to talk about it with the person.  That is one area that I think I have grown the most in over the last few years.  Usually, I have been passive-aggressive or will just keep it all in and then have some big blow up after too much has bottled up.  Now, if I am getting upset with someone or have an issue, I try to work it out with the person before it gets too out of control.  And I am also more open to feedback from a roommate as well.  I know that I am not perfect, far from it, and that there are things that I do or say that can bug people.  Trust me, when you live with someone, they see all your faults and you see theirs.  I asked all my roommates to let me know if/when I do something to them or that they didn’t like, because sometimes I don’t even know that it bugged them.

I have my days where I definitely miss having my own apartment and privacy and most of all control.  But that can get lonely at times.  I like having roommates to talk to, share life with and learn from.

Does anyone have any other positives or negatives about roommates?

Thanks Marie for the great question!

 

**This is part of a series I am doing where you, my wonderful readers, can ask me anything you want, whether in my comments section or using my BLOG THIS page.  I will then answer your question in a blog post and link back to your blog.**

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

2 responses to “Ask Me – Question 1

  • Tracy

    I have so many college roomate stories…all entitled Guess Who…who used the last square of TP…who didn’t pay the rent…who put a pizza in the shower?

    My question …for what in your life do you feel most grateful?

Leave a Reply

