Where Am I? – the conclusion

For the last 2 days, I have left a series of pictures and clues, hoping to see if anyone could guess where I went on my mini-vacation for the long holiday weekend.  Thanks to everyone for your comments and guesses.  To end your suspense, I will now tell you that I was in Pismo Beach, CA!

 

It is about a 3 1/2 hour drive northwest from my home, up to central California.  The drive was really scenic, some of it along the Pacific coast, some through long stretches of farm land.  I got to blast my music and sing my little heart out in the car.  I went to visit my fabulous friend Cathi, her son Jeremiah and her fiance Jeff.  I met Cathi 5 years ago when I first moved to California, where we both worked together a group home for abused and neglected children.  She and Jeremiah moved up to Pismo a year and a half ago to be with Jeff, and I hadn’t seen her since.  She was not only my friend, but also my mentor at work and a fun adventure partner.  We would go try all sorts of new types of foods and local activities.  We also used to do some scrapbooking together (something I miss doing).

 

It was so much fun to reconnect with them. They took me to see lots of sites in Pismo Beach and surrounding beaches, as you can see from the last 2 days posts.  I can’t wait to go back again to spend more time with them.  Next time I’m making sure to pack lots of sunscreen (see yesterday’s picture).  I think I have 2nd or 3rd degree burns as I ended up getting sick during the night.

 

Today was the long drive back.  Because of the end of the long holiday weekend, there was a lot of traffic.  There was a long stretch where cars were bumper to bumper going no more than 15 miles per hour.  It ended up taking about 5 hours to get back.  I made sure to wear a longer sleeved shirt to help block the sun from burning me more on the drive.   I hope you all had a great weekend, and remembered to thank our service men and women, past and present, for protecting us and our freedoms.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

11 responses to “Where Am I? – the conclusion

  • therealsharon

    I’ve actually heard of Pismo Beach…on the old Looney Tunes cartoons…I remember an episode where Bugs was trying to burrow his way to Pismo Beach. 🙂
    He would always forget to take a left? or was it right? at Albuquerque.

  • mairedubhtx

    You probably had sun poisoning from that terrible sun burn. Hope you’re better now. Glad you had such a good time. I could have never guessed where you were, never having heard of Psmo Beach, but it sound and looks lovely.

  • Sandi Ormsby

    That was originally what I was thinking. I know my brother goes there with his dune buggy. I just couldn’t recall the name Pismo and I kept thinking Carpinteria (where you can camp on the sand) so all that stuck in my head was Baja and I think you can drive on that sand too…

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA USA

    Hope you had fun!

  • Cathi

    It was our pleasure to have you with us over the weekend. Hurry back and yes, we will do lots of scrapbooking..yay! Hope your burn is better now.

    • Stacey

      I’m hoping to be back really soon 🙂 Yesterday I started blistering (they were little) and peeling. so hopefully I’m on the way to healing. Can you send me the picture of Jeremiah and I? Thanks! How did day 1 go for you?

  • Cookie's Mom

    Alright, I’m a little late to the party (guessed Pismo Beach on your last post… just now). Anyway, that was pretty fun! Will have to remember to do something like this on my next vacay! Hope your sunburn is all healed up by now!

Leave a Reply

