Blog help needed

I keep seeing announcements from WordPress for new themes they have come out with.  I have found some that I think are nice, but I have a question:

If I were to change to a new theme, does it erase/eliminate/whatever all of the widgets and content that is currently in my sidebars?  Or will it automatically carry over to the new theme? Will it be in the same order/location?

Any help or advice you could give me would be great.  I’d rather not try to change layouts without knowing this and risk loosing things I already have in place.

Thanks blog friends!

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

12 responses to “Blog help needed

  • therealsharon

    I changed mine right before I did the Postaday challenge and it made me do the widgets that I wanted over again..but at the time I didn’t have much anyways because I had only used it a little beforehand. Not sure if it works that way on ALL themes though….I just know that the one I switched to made me do the widgets again.

  • Brenda

    I keep changing my themes and everytime I had to add my widgets back and reorder, sometimes the header and/or background. Its a little bit of work so if your current theme isn’t working for ya, do a screen print so you know where your widgets were and go for it! 🙂

  • Joss

    not all themes have the same widgets so you want to pick a theme that most closely matches with the details of what you have now. basically everything you have now SHOULD transfer over! Should being the operative word.

  • Sandi Ormsby

    In the back office/widgit area, bottom section

    I’d try pulling the current widgets you have and put them on the bottom area to “save” them. I think it’s the “inactive” widget area. Select your new theme. Then you just drag them to your new side bar and be done with it…

    If you place them in the inactive section, I don’t think you’ll lose them.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  • Stacey

    Thanks everyone for your feedback…now I’m kinda scared to try to change it because I don’t have hours to spend trying to fix it. What do you all think….should I keep it the same or change it?

  • Pranab

    the widgets will get relegated to the bottom panel for the deleted widgets on the widgets page where it shall retain any customizations that you may have applied. all you have to do it drag and drop them in the order you want…

  • jeanne

    Great question…great answers!

  • Redneckprincess

    It won’t erase everything, but you might have to rearrange a bit is all, and if you don’t like it, you can change it back 🙂

  • Jesse Jaca

    Stacey, dont be afraid to change, i always do it, and it’s easy to bring back. none of your widget will be deleted.

    what i do is go to the theme, preview the new theme, it shld show how it will look like with all your widget and menu pages. then if you like it u can click to change. this time when you view your blog alll the widgets are gone. so you have to go to the WIDGET settings on your dashboard. at the bottom you will find all the widgets you did then just drag those to the right sides and arrange how you like it. and presto you are back at it again.

    happy theme hunting.

    rgds,
    jesse

Leave a Reply

