Bacon

This is todays postaday2011 challenge topic:  Write about something to do with bacon. Do you like it? hate it? Wish there more of it, or less? Do you like the way it looks, or do you wish you never saw it again? What do you think of bacon flavored chocolate, or the significance of the phrase “brining home the bacon?”  BACON??!!!!

At first I thought this was a really stupid topic.  But then I decided to have some fun with it.

Before I moved to California, I had a small going away party with a few friends, where we went wine tasting in the Finger Lakes region of New York.  At the time, I had thought I was going to make a scrapbook of the event, and so we took a photograph of each winery, each bartender, a group photo, and then would ask the bartender for advice/words of wisdom.  I have long lost all the notes I took with each person’s name and advice, but there was one guy who stood out.

How does this relate to Bacon, you ask.  Well his first name was Chris.  I then asked him his last name. ….it was Bacon.  Then he said his middle name started with a P (I think it was Patrick, but I had had some wine already and it was 5 years ago now).  So…put it all together and what do you have….. Chris P. Bacon = crispy bacon!

His name sure was great for a laugh.  Who knows for sure if it’s true, but it was on his name tag.  Like I said, I lost my notes with the advice, but I have never forgotten his name!

Now for a recipe involving bacon:   Bacon wrapped hot dogs!!

I was first introduced to these at the Rose Parade from a street vendor.  At first I thought it looked weird and wasn’t sure it would taste good. But after standing near the vendor cooking them for a couple of hours, I decided to give one a try.  All you do is wrap a couple pieces of bacon around a hot dog and grill it until its done.  I like to top mine with some grilled onions and mustard.  Here’s a picture I got off of Goggle to show you what it looks like:

courtesy of Goggle images

What do you like to add bacon to?  What do you think about bacon? How would you have answered this daily post topic?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

18 responses to “Bacon

Leave a Reply

