(G)adgets, Gismos, and GPS

I will be the first to admit that I am not very technically inclined.  For awhile, when I first got my iPod, I had to have other people show me how to download music and then have them load the music onto my iPod.  When it comes to hooking up anything electronic, I usually have to have one of my roommates do it.  Even though I am not good at setting up all the electronic gizmos, I love the convenience of them when I use them.

Here’s a list of some of my favorites:

1. iPod – it comes in handy when I’m just needing a music break, whether at work or sitting at Starbucks with some coffee.  It also comes in very handy when I’m at the gym.

2. my smartphone –  I think sometimes I am overly dependent on this particular thing, but who wouldn’t be. It has everything: phone, internet, texting, music, videos, games.

3. GPS –  I am the worst at giving directions, and I always get lost.  I am so thankful for this; it has gotten be to my intended destination everytime, and has even helped me find random things along the way, such as restaurants or gas stations.

4. my laptop – kind of the same as my smart phone.  With certain software, I can video chat with my family all around the world.

5. my camera – This is especially essential for my love of photography and allows me to capture all of the moments I want to remember.

6. the television – it provides hours of mindless entertainment when wanted, as well as gives access to news both locally and worldwide, and allows me to keep up with my favorite sports events.

7.  food chopper –  an essential item for all of the cooking I like to do.  It is a time saver.

8.  cork screw – without this gadget, I wouldn’t be able to enjoy my favorite bottle of wine.

9.  my bluetooth speaker – I just got this and I LOVE it.  I have hated using the small bluetooth earpiece when driving to be able to talk on my phone. It was uncomfortable in my ear and would always lose its charge.  This gadget clips onto your visor and the voice clarity and sound are amazing!

 

These are just a few of my favorite gadgets and gismos.  What are some of yours?

 

This post is part of a month-long series, A-Z, that I am participating in for the month of April.  You can learn more about it by clicking on the link over on the right sidebar.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

14 responses to “(G)adgets, Gismos, and GPS

  • Tim

    One of my favourite gadgets is my iPhone I’m finding that I can do more and more with it. And I know this may sound odd my but my other fav gadget is my watch. It’s solar powered and radio controlled so never need to change battery and never change the time as it does it for me. Result!

  • eof737

    Well, I’m impressed by your gismo. You have all the main ones in use. I love the smart phone which I use daily but some on the list I don’t use at all. 🙂
    Eliz

  • mairedubhtx

    I like you selections. I will have to try the bluetooth speaker as I hate the thing in your ear, too.

  • Joss

    my favourite gizmo right now is my EReader as I can both read books and listen to MP3s with it. It’s light, it’s portable and the best feature is that I can increase the font size of books and articles I’m reading. Makes it less stressful for my eyes!
    Soon as I get my business up and running, though, I’ll have to invest in a cell phone of some kind but I’m going to trust my daughter to lead me in the right direction on that. OH, I forgot my GPS – I call her Grizzie, short for Grizelda. Being dyslexic this is for me one of the best inventions yet!!

    • Stacey

      i’ve considered getting an eReader. But for now I just borrow books from the library. I’m sure you daughter will be a great help when looking for a cell phone 🙂

  • jeanne

    Stacey, I am like you when it comes to the gadgets. I love them, use them and don’t know what I did before I had them. I am a bit technically challenged, once I learn it I have it. When the MP3 players first came out I would call it a 3PM and it drove my computer savvy son crazy. Now I do it just to see him smile. enJOY your gadget filled day.

  • liannouwen

    I don’t think I could live without my smartphone or laptop. For the other things, TV is nice but I’m not really using any other gadgets I guess.

  • Sandi Ormsby

    My husband bought me an ipod that he downloaded music to…took it the gym. Hopped onto one of those ellipitcal machines, and were the feet SLIDERS are, there is a little crevice the pedals hook into, my ipod fell into there. I couldn’t get my hand inside. There was no maintenance man. A gal that worked there had really tiny hands and was barely able to get it.

    How many people has that happened to…really?
    Grrr.

    sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  • Queen of Zoom

    Hmmm, electronic gadgets? Faves for me are ipod, my two cameras, and my computer. The rest I can live without 🙂

  • Stacey

    OMG…I can’t believe I forgot to add my Hair Straighten to the list! I use the thing daily to tame my unruly hair!!!

Leave a Reply

