(C)lub Creeper

I was reminded recently why I don’t always enjoy going to clubs.  A month ago, I went to a club with a few of my girlfriends.  We were just there to dance and hang out; not looking to impress guys or pick them up.  Well there happened to be this older man that approached me while I was alone, waiting for my friends to come back from dancing.  He was in his upper 40’s to mid 50’s, and not attractive.  He kept telling me a bunch of cheesy lines and asking me to dance.  I told him no and went back to my table.  The whole rest of the night, he stood within a few feet of our table, walking back and forth, staring at me, and occasionally coming over to talk to me, and he just was not getting the hint.  He would ask other ladies around me to dance but kept his eyes on me.

So I went back to this same club a week ago.  And lo and behold, guess who was there, wearing the exact same outfit. And wouldn’t ya know it, he came over to my friend and I as soon as we got a table and started again with the cheesy lines and even but his hand on my shoulder.  I told him I was not interested.  He still did the whole lingering thing the whole night, but did not approach me again.  I think it might have been because some of our guy friends had shown up and were with us later on.

What do you ladies do when you have a creepy guy that just won’t leave you alone?  How do you handle it?  I tried to ignore him, not look at him, not engage in conversation with him and told him no multiple times, but it seemed to not be effective.  I do enjoy going to this club and want to keep going there, but I don’t know how to deal with him.  Thoughts???

 

 

 

 

This post is part of a month-long series, A-Z, that I am participating in for the month of April.  You can learn more about it by clicking on the link over on the right sidebar.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

16 responses to “(C)lub Creeper

  • Jackie Paulson 1966

    I wear a ring and say I am engaged or married. I also would lie and tell them your job is Security Officer and you will report him to the proper authorities if he continues. 🙂 That’s just me.

  • Tim

    Some guys just don’t really get the hint. I think personally by ignoring him (as difficult as it can be) is probably the best thing you can do.

  • Joss

    I think I would speak to the bouncer or bar tender about this guy. He’s likely freaking out other ladies too and needs to be stopped.

  • mairedubhtx

    I would just tell him to get lost, I’m not interested, and I’m telling the police he’s stalking me. But that’s just me. I’m a bitch.

  • liannouwen

    Ugh, I hate it when that happens to me. At first I’m flattered someone notices me but if I’m not interested and he won’t go away it’s really annoying. I usually try to ignore him and have a laugh about how pathetic he is with my friends. Nice as they are, they block his view on me as best as possible 🙂

  • Country Living

    It’s ashame you can’t go out like that anymore and just enjoy yourself without some creep. (Bring mace! haha…)I’m with Joss though, let the bouncer know, it’s their job!

  • Stacey

    Thanks everyone for your advice. I plan on going there in a couple weeks and I don’t want him ruining my time. I will be sure to keep ignoring him and/or telling him I’m not interested, and will inform the bouncer. I will also make sure my mace is in my purse 🙂

  • Sandi

    Sometimes, you have to be really direct. Some people don’t get the hint. They just are a little slower on the take. You can say “leave me alone.”

    However, I’m not a fan of being rude.

    Society automatically wants to deem these individuals as “stalkers” who want to do harm to us.

    He might just be really lonely, maybe he’s recently divorced/widowed. Maybe he never met his love. Maybe he doesn’t have buddies to go out with for whatever reason.

    Some people aren’t taught “social graces” and so come the “cheesy” lines.

    I think what I’d do, access the situation by talking to him. I’d ask him his name, and why he was there. I’d make it abundantly clear I wasn’t interested romantically, and to stop with the lines. I’d probably make a joke. Then ask him point blank why he’s there. Does he like the music, where are his friends, and why is he giving lines to women…does it really work?

    He may not like it and leave you alone or you might find out he’s just trying to make some friends…and doesn’t know how to go about doing it. He might be a really funny guy, that you might want to be acquaintances in a plutonic way.

    OR he could be some “touched” individual that requires notifying the bouncer.

    You won’t know until you take a minute to look him in the eye and basically say “whats your deal?”

    That’s how I’d handle it…

    He might become that guy you wave to and say “what’s up. Easy on the lines there, Chester.” he might nod and smile in return.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  • Country Living

    @ Sandi, wow…I must say that would be the way to go! Far to often, we jump the gun automaticly thinking the worst! When in return, they’re probably in there, the same reason y’all are! Just to hang out! Great insight!

  • Piglet in Portugal

    I’d think I would freak out!

  • Redneckprincess

    Hahahaha…Sandi you have so much more class than I would…I would tell him to back off, not interested at ALL…but I have never been known for my grace …

  • SharleneT

    Sandi’s got the answer — but, then, when they remain clueless… I used to tell my girls that the guys are just as shy and bluster stupid lines because they really don’t know any better. But, if they don’t move when you tell them… well, you can’t fix stupid; right?

    Visiting from the A-Z Challenge.

    Come visit when you can at:
    http://www.mainstreamsolarcooking.com
    http://rockingchairreflections.blogspot.com (A-Z)

  • BabyBird

    What a creepo! Even moreso cuz he probably forgot that he already tried hitting on you last time! Ugh, I hate that a creepy guy can totally ruin a night.. I rarely go to clubs anymore too, but when I go, it’s usually just because my girlfriends and I want to go dancing!

  • eof737

    You did good. Ignore him or tell the manager of the club to deal with him. 🙂

  • Making progress « Walk A Mile In My Shoes

    […] Creeper guy.  If you don’t know who I’m talking about, please read this post.  Yes he was there, again, with the same black shirt and black pants.  And he spotted me as well. […]

Leave a Reply

