(B)lessed Beyond Belief

March was a really difficult month for me, personally, emotionally and professionally.  But then the other day, I was meeting with one of my clients, and listening to her and her mother share about some recent deaths in their family last week.  And I had a few different friends lose their children in March as well.

There is a man I work with and every time someone asks him “How are you?” his response is always “I’m blessed!”.

Both of these got me thinking that even though I think a lot of things and situations in my life seem to stink, it does not compare to the loss of a life.  And that I really am blessed, even though I can fail to recognize it when I’m feeling overwhelmed by the little things I am going through.

So today I just want to take a moment and reflect on some of my blessings (since today is (B) day in the A-Z April blog challenge).

*I am blessed with my family and friends – even though there are times that I get frustrated with them, I still love them and cherish that they are still in my life.

*I am blessed with my health – yes, it is not perfect, but I could be so much worse off.

*I am blessed with having health insurance, to make sure I stay as healthy as possible.

*I am blessed to have a job – I may not love it every single moment, but I love being able to use my gifts and talents to help others that are less fortunate, and yes, it pays the bills.

*I am blessed to have a roof over my head – and to share that roof with some really great girls.  I have seen living conditions in poverty stricken countries, for example “walls” made out of plastic bags, with dirt floors. We are definitely spoiled in America.

*I am blessed to have a car to be able to get wherever I need to, whenever I need to.

*I am blessed to have an amazing church and church family that I love and that have taken me in, encouraged me and help me to grow.

*I am blessed to be a daughter of the King.

What are some of the blessings you have in your life?

This post is part of a month-long series, A-Z, that I am participating in for the month of April.  You can learn more about it by clicking on the link over on the right sidebar.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

9 responses to “(B)lessed Beyond Belief

  • mairedubhtx

    We are all blessed in so many ways if we only take the time to think about it. When I get angry with my daughter, I think about how blessed I am to have her, warts and all.

  • Liz

    Thank you for sharing!! it made me realize whether or not i am going through stuff in life that i am blessed beyond belief..I am blessed to live with 5 wonderful girls, i am blessed to be tutoring 3 awesome kids, i am blessed for an amazing church family who have been there for me through everything, i am blessed to have the parents who have raised me, and gave me another chance @ life…thank you for posting this Stacey! it opened up my eyes…

  • Country Living

    Great post! I sometimes also get aggrivated about how small our appt. is, and that we do not have the income we are acustom to. But, like you, I get to thinking how most are less fortunate than we are. I am grateful for a roof over our heads and food on the table. God always has a way of looking out for us, doesn’t he? Thank you for your post!

  • charmaineclancy

    I blessed with Internet – it’s so amazing! I still get shivers. Love that I can visit all of these great blogs (instead of cleaning the house, preparing my lesson plans, editing my novel… oh well).

    Wagging Tales – Blog for Writers

  • walterwsmith3rd

    Hi Stacy, I enjoyed reading this post on blessings. I certainly can relate to many of the things you stated. It is the everyday sustaining things in our lives that are really the things we can be grateful for. Without them life would be so difficult. Thanks for sharing.
    Walter

  • eof737

    I am blessed to have life and blessed to have family and friends and a life based on faith… This is a beautiful post Stacey! Thank you! 🙂
    Eliz

  • nuggetsandpearls

    I think that so long as we have food, water, clothes, shelter and love in our lives then everything else is a bonus – oh, and air of course! I count my blessings every day and still continue to write a gratitude list – it has helped me shift my focus from all the negatives that can take over if we let them. Notice I didn’t add money to the list, there are other currencies although I know most of us can’t get by without it.

  • jeanne

    You are truly blessed and highly favored daughter of the King!!!

Leave a Reply

