A weekend away

Over the weekend, I went to the mountains on a church retreat with a small group of people.  I went up a bit early than the rest of the people so that I could make sure my car made it up during daylight hours (I’m having an issue with the tires) and I wanted some time to walk around by the lake to work on a photo project of mine.  We have made this retreat trip every year for the last 4 years so I didn’t think to check the weather.  I was pleasantly surprised when I got up the mountain and it was in the high 50’s and the sun was shining.  Too bad I packed a bunch of sweaters and warm clothes. The focus of the retreat was on Rest and building community with each other.  This year was a much smaller group.  There were 9 of us, plus a baby the first night, and then 13 the next day. It was the BEST retreat.  There was NO drama, everyone got along, we made some new friends among our group and just had a great time hanging out, getting to know each other, playing games, sharing meals together.  There was not much sleep to be had.  The only thing I miss was going out in the snow.  Being from NY, I was always surrounded by snow for 5-6 months out of the year. Now living in southern CA, we do not get snow, unless we go to the mountains.  This time, most of the snow was gone, unless you went to the ski slopes.  Another thing we used to do was go sledding.  Since there was no snow, there was no sledding.  It’s the one time out of the year I actually look forward to playing in the snow.  But just being away, away from the drama at home and work, and meeting new people, not having to worry about a schedule, or plans, not having a watch, no one telling me what to do, etc. it was SO nice.  I think everyone needs to get away every now and then to just forget all the junk in life and to recharge themselves.

What do you like to do to recharge yourself?  Have you gotten away to have some down-time for yourself lately?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

9 responses to “A weekend away

Leave a Reply

