Mind Reader

If you could read minds for a day, would you?

Whose? What would you want to find out?

This was one of the topics for the postaday2011 challenge.

I would absolutely love to read everyone’s mind.  I used to have a more trusting and optimistic view of people.  But it seems the more times you get hurt, especially by people you thought you could trust or cared about you, the more cynical and unsure you become of them.  I’ve recently been going through a serious and difficult situation at work and a few people’s jobs, including mine, were sort of on the line.  With the hierarchy chain of command, and me being on the very bottom, I thought for sure I would be thrown under the bus, taking the hit for all the higher ups involved.  I would be “reassured” of things by some parties involved and yet I knew I was only being told half-truths and little bits of the story.  I would have loved to be able to read the minds of all those involved to see what they were really thinking and up to and what they really thought of me when my job duties and character were being threatened.  The same goes for friends that I no longer am close with but sometimes am cordial with when we see each other at church.  I would love to know what they are really thinking of me and our “friendship” instead of the lip service that comes out.   I guess I really just want the TRUTH.  Most people are too timid or afraid to tell someone the truth.  But I prefer it over half-truths or blatant lies, or not even knowing.

What about you?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

5 responses to “Mind Reader

  • BabyBird

    Sorry to hear about the stressful work situation.. office politics drive me nuts. The fact that, regardless of how great you are as an employee, because you’re at the bottom of the hierarchy, then you’d get thrown under the bus 😦

    I don’t know if I’d like that to read people’s minds.. granted it’s just from pop culture references like Sookie from True Blood, or Jean Grey from X-Men, but sometimes you really don’t want to know what people are thinking! LOL! I don’t think my ego could handle it knowing what someone may REALLY think of me…

  • barb19

    I remember what it was like working in an office – all the bickering and lip service from those you thought were “friends”. I think as we get older, we become more cynical and mis-trusting of people.
    I wouldn’t want to read anybody’s mind – I might not like what I see!

  • eof737

    What a scary contraption… I have no interest in reading other minds. It wouldn’t be fun! 🙂

  • Stacey

    True, I would probably not like what I would “see/hear” from reading their minds and I’m sure my feelings would be hurt, but I still think I would rather know the truth. I wish they would actually just say it to me, rather than have to poke and prod in someone’s mind. I don’t like having those feelings of cynicism and distrust, knowing that they are purposely not telling you the truth. But I can understand both sides.

  • Timmer

    Totally agree, I would like to be a mind reader. If only people were more upfront and honest & tells you how it is then everything would be so much easier.

Leave a Reply

