Can I be caffeine-free?

It’s been 7 days since I have had any coffee.  I realized since my post Terrible Tuesday, that I have a strong addiction to coffee, well actually to all caffeine.  So when I ran out of it last Saturday, I have refused to buy any more.  I have also cut down on my soda intake, hoping to gradually fade that out as I use up the 18 cans I have left at home/work.  To not throw myself/my body into complete caffeine withdrawal/shock, I have had one cup of green tea each morning.  It has helped me to not have the severe headaches, jitters, and anxiety, and to not be as much of a b*!ch to those around me. If anyone has struggled with caffeine addiction or weaning themselves off of it, I would love to hear any advice or thoughts you have about it.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

12 responses to “Can I be caffeine-free?

  • Redneckprincess

    I don’t do anything else bad…I can’t imagine quitting coffee…good luck!!

  • nrhatch

    Coffee has powerful anti-oxidants so I’m not interested in eliminating it from my diet.

    I drink 2 cups in the morning, enjoy it immensely, and drink water for the rest of the day.

    Good luck to you.

    • Patti

      It is a tough one! I gave up caffeine cold turkey for both of my pregnancies and then another time when I was having pains that might be connected to it. What a headache I had – yikes. I don’t drink coffee, but I do get a lot of caffeine from diet soda. I’m not planning on giving it up now, but I have found it somewhat unnerving how easy it is to become addicted and how easy it is to convince myself that it will be okay.

  • BabyBird

    Wow, that’s some willpower! I can’t do it.. Not only do I have caffeine it’s not just a regular coffee I have in the morning, but an extra-caramel caramel macchiato from Starbucks.. Lol.. 2 espresso shots a lot of sugar! Definitely get headches when I don’t have one for a day or two 😦

    • Stacey

      Yea I like(d) my coffee extra strong so it has been challenging. I am doing the “step down” by having the green tea and I occasionally will have one soda. I am dreading the headaches.

  • Rocket

    Well, for one, you have my respect! I am not a serious addict to coffee, but I do find I drink something caffeine related at least four times a week, and as a college student that rate is starting to go up! I decided to quit cold turkey, and I did, for two weeks! I just had my “relapse” about five days ago!
    Good luck!

  • dePressed

    I know I can’t be caffeine free – but good luck to you.

  • Amiable Amiable

    Hi Stacey,

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I love meeting new bloggers, and am happy to make your acquaintance – and offer support about giving up caffeine.

    Um, well, er, I have flunked decaffeination a couple of times, most recently at the beginning of this year. I gave it up cold turkey because I thought it might have been contributing to a nervous stomach (thank you, work, for all the stress!). I drank lots of water all day and actually felt so much better and energized … for two weeks. I succumbed to its power again, though, after a 12-hour workday (grrrrr!) and am back to drinking it, but in moderation.

    I admire you for drinking green tea – I have tried, but all tea upsets my stomach. Go figure! Hang in there – you are on the right track! You go, girl!

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    Best,
    AA

Leave a Reply

