Valentines Day aftermath

Tree decorated for Valentine's Day in San Dieg...

Image via Wikipedia

Now that Valentine’s Day is over, I’m curious to hear how it was for you.  Did it live up to your expectations/hopes, or were you completely disappointed, or indifferent?  I would love for you to share your best and worst Valentine’s Day stories and gifts, either from yesterday or from years past.  I will do a post later tonight with my best and worst.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

13 responses to “Valentines Day aftermath

  • All We Need is LOVE . . . « Spirit Lights The Way

    […] (Reflections from a Cloudy Mirror) * Timeless Literary Love Stories (My Literary Quest) * Valentine’s Day Aftermath (Walk A Mile In My […]

  • nrhatch

    In 27 years of marriage, we’ve only gone out to eat on Valentine’s Day once. The experience did not bear repeating:

    * Snowy, cold, and dark weather made travel to and from our favorite Italian restaurant a chore.
    * Tables jam-packed with other celebratory couples challenged our efforts to converse.
    * Harried waiters hurried and scurried about, slapping food down on tables with less than usual grace.

    And the restaurant, aptly named Valentino’s, had a “special” menu for Valentine’s Day . . . with inflated prices and deflated options.

    Since then, we’ve enjoyed quiet togetherness at home. Much more conducive to romance.

  • Valentino’s on Valentine’s « Spirit Lights The Way

    […] post: Valentine’s Day Aftermath (Walk A Mile In My […]

  • literaryescape

    Hi Stacey! I’m Michelle, I just stumbled upon your blog. I’m not big on Valentine’s Day so my boyfriend and I decided not to celebrate it. Honestly, the commercial chaos of the event is a bit upsetting to me. And after having a TERRIBLE ex who gave extensive gifts, I can honestly say that I would much prefer someone’s ACTIONS to show they love me rather than their money. Plus, I’d much rather go out to dinner some other night when the restaurants aren’t packed!

    …Despite all this, my boyfriend still happened to surprise me with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, which meant even more since I made it clear that I didn’t expect anything. He always makes me smile.

    I hope you had a good Valentine’s Day and I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    – Michelle

    • Stacey

      Michelle, welcome. Im so glad you found me, and thanks for sharing. I hate the commercialness of valentinrs day as well, but it is nice to have someone appreciate that day. Check back later tonight for my stories on my experiences.

  • jeanne

    Hi Stacey, My husband and I celebrated our 22nd anniversary on Valentines Day. We rarely eat out on our anniversary. Inspired by the movie Julie, Julia, I decided to cook Julia Childs Beef Bourguignon for dinner. It was delicious and we had a lovely evening together.

  • Charlie Courtois

    Good luck on your affairs of the heart. In all my single years, to 26, I never had your kind of luck. 🙂 Take care, Charlie

  • Marcia

    I have to admit I’m a little like Michelle and don’t celebrate these one-off occassions because I think we should just show people we care about them every day not once a year.
    Having said that I enjoyed a lovely meal, flowers, wine, chocolates on the Saturday before, all totally unprompted and very much appreciated. Only thing missing was the sex…. ah well, can’t have it all!

Leave a Reply

