A Perfect Sunday

My perfect Sunday happened  in November of last year. It incorporated many things that I love:  Jesus, Football, Hockey, Fireworks and Food!

I got up and got ready for church, as I do every week. Only this week, I put a little more effort into looking nice because of my afternoon plans.  I had recently started dating someone, we will call him Randy, and I knew that I would be seeing him later on.   Anyways, I went to church, and listened intently on the sermon, though I cannot remember now what it was about, but I can tell you that they are always great.  After church, I went home and turned on the football game. I watched and cheered on various teams, as my team, the NY Giants, did not play until that evening.  It would have been more perfect if they had played at 1:00 so I could have watched them, and if they would have won.

So Randy* arrives at my house around 3:30 to pick me up and take me to the Ducks hockey game. We had a nice time chatting in the car, drinking a beer at the game and just continuing to get to know each other.  Again, my team lost, but I was not going to let that ruin my day.  We were also given a free window decal at the game, so that was a plus.

Next, we went to Downtown Disney, because Randy* knew I loved fireworks, at Disneyland does then nightly, and we had about 20 minutes until the show.  We stood, cuddled together, and just enjoyed each others company, until the magical fireworks lit up the night sky.   After, we were hungry, as it was about 10:00pm.  Randy* took me to a nice jazz restaurant serving New Orleans style food.  We were seated right next the band.  It was a nice, romantic dinner with candles and live music.

All in all, it was one of the best dates I have had, and a fantastic way to spend a Sunday.  It would have only been more perfect if both of my teams had won their games, but you can’t win them all.

What’s your idea for a perfect Sunday? How would it differ from a typical Sunday?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

3 responses to “A Perfect Sunday

  • Magnificent Minimalist

    “…we will call him Randy.”

    Oh yes we will! 😉

  • classyrose

    What I want to know is, what happened to ‘Randy’?

    You’ve read what my perfect Sunday’s used to be.

    http://wp.me/p1fqaT-n3

    I don’t think anything could replace them, but there is always hope. 🙂

    • Stacey

      well….a few weeks later when we started really talking about the future, he made it very clear that he did not want more kids (he has 2 from a previous marriage). I don’t have any and have always wanted to be a mom. He started shutting down with communication. I also caught him trying to find out girls online while we were still together. Bottom line…he was in no way ready to be in a relationship and I shouldn’t have to settle.

Leave a Reply

