Daily Archives: January 28, 2011

Five Question Friday fun

Rules for 5QF: Copy and paste the following questions to your blog post, answer them, then link back to My Little Life’s blog. And the biggest rule of all…the most important rule…the one you must follow to a “T”: HAVE FUN!!

Questions for Friday, January 28th:

1. If you had $1,000 to donate to a charity, which would you choose?

There are many wonderful charities out there, and I would love to donate to so many.  I would have to pick the one I currently support, which is Compassion International.  I currently sponsor 2 children through Compassion, a little boy, Christian, from Peru and a young girl, Nadriele, from Brazil.  Compassion International exists as a Christian child advocacy ministry that releases children from spiritual, economic, social and physical poverty and enables them to become responsible, fulfilled Christian adults. Founded by the Rev. Everett Swanson in 1952, Compassion began providing Korean War orphans with food, shelter, education and health care, as well as Christian training.

Today, Compassion helps more than 1 million children in 26 countries. They provide so much to the children that they help out, and over 80% of their expenditures go towards the program activities.  Check out their website here for more information on their program and how you can sponsor a child or just give money towards their unsponsored children fund.

2. Snow days: Do you welcome them happily or are they a pain in your butt?

Growing up in upstate NY, there were always plenty of snow days.  I loved them when I was in school, but once I started working, we did not get Snow Days.  I hated having to get up earlier to go shovel the sidewalk and driveway just to get my car out, plus scrape off the car and get it warming up about 20 minutes before I needed to leave for work.  Now that I live in southern California, there is no such thing as a Snow Day here.  I was able to go to the mountains last week to see a little bit of snow and reminisce about the snow from my youth.

3. What talent did you wish you had and why?

I would love to have a great singing voice.  I will admit that I can sometimes get a little jealous of the women at my church that help lead worship. They have amazing voices! Just once, I would like to be able to join them, and not empty out the church with my often off-pitch voice.

4. Are you a news, politics or celebrity gossip junkie?

Hi, my name is Stacey, and I’m a celebrity gossip junkie.  I currently subscribe to US Weekly in the mail, and one of my guilty pleasures is keeping up with E! Entertainment and TMZ.  It’s very entertaining to just to laugh at the crazy things that the celebrities do.

5. What is your favorite “cocktail”? (Are you a beer person, a kiddie cocktail junkie, or perhaps your more the “Cosmo” kind?! Anything flies…doesn’t hafta be alcoholic!)

I am a wine-o.  LOL.  I love wine, preferably white wines.  But I also like mixed drinks, mostly margaritas, martinis, mojitos, vodka and juice, rum and diet coke.  Sometimes when I’m watching sports though, I will have the occasional beer.

Your turn!

What you didn’t know about me

Since I’m having a bit of a writer’s block, I thought I would give you all some random information about me, which was inspired from my weekly flip through US Magazine.  Every US Magazine issue features a spot on a celebrity entitled 25 things you don’t know about me.  So here are some of mine:

1.) I love to collect things related to elephants and giraffes, especially after having visited Africa.

2.) I love decorating for all holidays (though most of the time, my budget does not allow for this, nor does my current living situation)

3.) I have a huge fear of spiders and snakes.

4.) growing up in a small town in upstate NY, I’m not phased if I open the garage door at a relatives house and find a dead deer hanging, gutting, drying out….still a bit gross.

5.)  I can shoot a bow and arrow, but I prefer guns

6.) I am slightly addicted to reality shows…sometimes they make me appreciate my own life, as mine is not as crazy and drama-filled.

7.)  I love to cook and taught myself how to do it

8.) I have designed my own diamond ring, and am working on designing a tattoo

9.) I am surprised by how much I love sushi.  I had never had it until I moved to California 4 years ago.

10.) I am afraid of heights, but prefer to fly rather than drive.

11.)  I conquered my fear of heights by going on a hot air balloon ride with some friends…..it was terrifying and amazing!

12.)  I have moved at least 20 times so far in my life, and I am just barely over 30.

13.)  2 of my celebrity crushes:  Ryan Reynolds and Bradley Cooper

14.)  when I was in high school, I got my grandmother addicted to soap operas

15.) I love to travel and so far have been to 8 countries outside of the USA.

16.) My favorite colors are red, orange, and blue

17.) I have an uncanny ability to solve the puzzle on Wheel Of Fortune when there are only 1 or 2 letters showing.

18.) I had my first hangover when I was in 7th grade….and I had school the next morning.  It was purely accidental, and I was not alone in my misery.

19.) I need to sleep with a fan on, and often the TV as well.

20.) I think making your bed every morning is a waste of time.

21.) When taking pictures, I often take the same shot 5-8 different ways, with different angles.  My family thinks I’m crazy, but you never know which pic you are going to like best.

22.) I am super organized at work, but home is a different story.

23.)  I have a cool scar on my leg from a boating accident on the Nile River

24.) I am quite clumsy; I run into everything, trip over my own feet, drop stuff, and often don’t know where most of my bruises come from

25.) I can laugh like Elmo from Sesame Street.