Daily Archives: January 22, 2011

Holes In My Heart

(Here is my first ever attempt at writing a poem)

Holes in my heart

There are holes in my heart,

that was once so full and complete.

Now replaced with bad memories and experiences

I don’t want to repeat.

Each memory has stripped it away

little by little.

Taking away a small part of me,

Tearing my heart down the middle.

I’ve pushed the bad memories

down deep inside,

wishing forever

they would stay there and hide.

But then once in awhile,

those memories come flooding back.

Causing me pain and sorrow,

feeling like my heart just got another whack.

It will be okay, I tell myself

Those are things of the past.

I’ve made my mistakes and moved on,

wishing the pain not to last.

These holes remain,

but some have gotten smaller.

And I myself,

got a little bit stronger.

In these times

I’m down on my knees,

Crying out to God,

To heal my heart please.

In these holes,

His love can shine through.

Healing me from the inside out,

restoring me,  making me like new.

 

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, For from it flow the springs of life.”  Proverbs 4:23 (NASB)

