Daily Archives: January 16, 2011

Wacky advice

The topic for today with the postAday challenge is :  What’s the wackiest advice you’ve ever heard?

Answer:  Windex- it cures everything!

If you’ve ever seen the movie, “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”, then you know what I’m talking about.  The main character’s father truly believes that Windex will cure anything, from a muscle ache, psoriasis, poison ivy, to healing a pimple, not to mention its usefulness when cleaning.   Although the makers of Windex did see a spike in consumer purchase of their product after the movie opened, they have made it known that Windex does NOT have any healing properties, and it will in fact irritate your skin, possibly causing more breakouts, if you try using it to zap away your zits.

Recently a friend of mine told me that her grandmother swears by apple cider vinegar, kinda like the Windex, but that you should drink the vinegar whenever you think you are getting sick.  I think there was some other things to do with it, but that’s the one part I remember.  I’m not a big vinegar fan and drinking a glass of it does not seem appealing, so I cannot tell you if it works or not.

On a more serious note, the best advice I have been given is always to pray about making a big decision and/or to sleep on it.  Giving yourself that extra time to really weigh the pros and cons, and taking a step back from the situation/decision can help bring some needed clarity.

How you doin?

Yesterday I went to a 2011 goal-setting tea, hosted by one of my dear friends.  She had her place beautifully set up with homemade scones, muffins, finger sandwiches, and of course, a large variety of teas.   She has training in life coaching, and one of her goals was to put together this workshop for women, to help them evaluate their lives and set some goals for their lives, immediate, short-term and long-term.  We participated in several exercises to get us to think and evaluate various areas of our lives, such as physical, financial, career, spiritual, mental, etc. and then set goals for each area.  I liked this much better than just setting New Year’s resolutions, because I think that those can be silly and sometimes superficial, and don’t make you examine your current situation, nor think ahead about your future.

When I did some of these exercises, I noticed that there was a lot of areas in my life that were out of balance, and some that were doing better than I had really thought.  We will be meeting once per month to check in with each other to see how we are doing on our goal setting and progress, and hopefully encouraging each other along the way.  Our homework over the next couple of weeks is to set up our goals, and outline specific action steps and target dates for each goal.  One of my goals was to work on my blog, and challenging myself to write more often.  Last year when I started my blog, I only posted a handful of times, and had no set plan or purpose.  I was pleased, when reflecting on this yesterday, that with the help of the postaday2011 challenge, and encouragement from others, I have posted almost every single day this month!  So far I’m doing well.  I also feel like I have some other good goals that I can be working on throughout this year (will try to share more on them later) and at least have some great tools to get me started and on track.  How are you all doing with your 2011 goals? How can I help/encourage you in your goals?


Sunday Summary about my Blog Buddies

Here’s some highlights from posts written by my Blog Buddies this week.  Be sure to check out their blogs for more great posts and show them some love.

Art of Nom: The Art of Nom, written by Sara, is a diary of food, photography, and other daily pleasures, from start to finish. She has a great black and white photo showcasing ingredients used to make some homemade bread.  It definitely appealed to my carb-loving nature 🙂   See it here.

Dr. Skeptic:  This blog is written by a recently graduated physician, who believes that the first step to knowledge begins with the cultivation of skepticism.  The post that I loved this week was one that was linked from another blog, and it talked about the size of a man’s foot compared to the size of his “manhood”.  I also loved the in-depth analysis Dr. Skeptic did on one of his (also one of mine) blog buddy’s (It’s Haphazard).  I can’t wait until I get a thorough review of my blog 😉

It’s Haphazard: This blog, written by Casey, a student from from Monaghan, Ireland, whose blog is her personal, online diary. Her post from 1/14/11 A Blog?Why? was something I could relate to. We both share anxiety and fear of posting blogs, being criticized for what we write, or that no one would read our blogs.  Now that she has some blog buddies, that last fear can be eliminated!

Jettison2011: For every day in 2011, Jettison will discard one item, paying it homage by sharing a photo, perhaps a story about it and her reason and method for getting rid of it. Her post Coat of Mail discusses “pack-ratdom” and points out one area that I can absolutely relate to…the accumulation of mail (and newspapers and ads).  She also showcases some other interesting items she has chosen to get rid of, including that random bottle of clear nail polish with multiple uses, and a piece of clothing that could be a top or a dress.

LoneDiamond:  Her blog started out as a way to improve her writing and full of random thoughts, similar to mine. Her post on Trip back to the Topics, talked about what she would like to be remembered for, for her kindness, who did all she could for her kids and husband, and talked about something she had never told anyone, which was about having a lack of confidence and putting herself down and holding herself back. The overall theme of the post was that you will make mistakes, as we all do, but to learn from them, to put yourself out there, and to take the bad in stride. It was really encouraging.

mylifedePressed: written by Lisa, a thirty-something mother of 2 and engaged to imPressed, her blog is a place to put her thoughts and share a bit of humor about life. I love her nicknames for her kids and fiancée.  Her post WWF was about her going to Weight Watchers to support her fiance and the information she found out about the program and how it will affect what they can eat day to day. I also like how the next day, she became best friends with the Weight Watchers points calculator.  That post was humorous and I loved how she ran around calculating everyones points around her.  Clean it OUT was about an upcoming project for their garage.  My pack-rat tendencies related to this post.

Narcissistic Raven:  This blog is a social experiment by a crazy raven haired, green eyed, yarn addicted girl from Jersey living in the south and her adventures on this topsy turvy roller coaster we call life.  Her post Please Excuse me while I pick the gravel out of my teeth definitely brought some tears to my eyes.  Major kuddos to Raven for sharing her heart here and praise God that she is out of that situation.  Another post of hers, Pay if Forward, reminded me of the movie.  It shows that there are still decent, caring people in the world willing to help out complete strangers, and ask only that you return the favor.  It inspired me to try to keep my eyes open for people  I could show random acts of kindness to.

Primary Thoughts:From My Father’s Knee:  This is a blog about thoughts on life and relationships written by a small town girl from Oklahoma. My pick-of-the-week post from her is How do you think?And what do they mean? It was a post about negative thought before positive choice, how you see yourself and how you make decisions.  Check it out and let her know your thoughts.

PrismofLove: Written by Elizabeth, her blog is  about viewing her life through a lens and exploring the scenery of the Tularosa Basin.  Her post, I actually did something in 2010 worth mentioning, was pretty amazing….she lost 55 pounds!!  Read about her weight loss and future goals.  CONGRATULATIONS!!! and keep it up!  Another post had me cracking up,  My Gray Hair Miracle.  I can relate and justify a good trip to the hair salon.

whatsbuggingmetoday:  written by ClassyRose. Her blog started off as a place to rant about things that bug her, to let off some steam and to inform others.  She also has some “or not” posts, about things that do NOT bug her. Her post on the Optimist Creed was really encouraging to me this week, especially as I am still feeling new to the blogging world.  Rose’s posts contain tidbits of encouragement, tips and suggestions that I’m sure will be very helpful.

Whewwww…..A shout out and thanks to WordPress.com for putting out the idea of blog buddies.  I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know my new buddies and read all of their great posts this week.  Great week Blog Buddies!! Let me know which of my posts were your favorites this week.

Thanks for walking this journey with me!