Daily Archives: January 11, 2011

The clock’s ticking

The question was posed today, what would you do if you knew you only had 60 minutes left to live.

In church this past Sunday, our pastor was talking about the importance of investing in relationships with others, and building our treasure in heaven based upon our relationships. He made the comment, “I’ve never once seen a U-Haul following a hearse.” meaning you can’t take it with you when you go. That struck home with me on a couple of different levels. First, was by how much value society puts on our accumulation of “stuff” and having the “best” stuff. We try to keep up with the Jones’, wait for hours upon hours for the newest technology gadget, go thousands or millions of dollars in debt for stuff we WANT, but not necessarily NEED. Second, I am just as guilty of wanting the “stuff”, overspending on “stuff”, and more importantly, placing too much of a value on my “stuff”. I will sometimes have a hard time sharing my stuff or letting go of stuff, because of some emotional or whatever other attachment I have put on my “stuff”. Sometimes it is driven by fear or lack of the unknown/future, like what if I need this in another year, what if my situation changes, will I have enough money to buy another one in the future if I get rid of this now?

With that being said, I really want to turn my attention and focus on building my relationships with my family and friends…so that when my last 60 minutes of life comes, I can go knowing that I have given all of myself to these people, have showed them love and kindness, encouraged them, and hopefully blessed them in some way. I would spend my 60 minutes saying my “I love you’s” and “goodbyes”, because I should have already said all the other things I needed to say to them ahead of time. I would also use my 60 minutes to give away all my stuff to those who need it or could be blessed by it…after all, I won’t be taking it with me.

What would you do with your 60 minutes?

