Daily Archives: January 10, 2011

Remember me

What do you want to be remembered for?

That’s the new topic with the PostADay2011 challenge.

My answer is this:  That I was faithful in serving God and others, like He would and he commands us to do.   My job, by it’s nature, is to serve others.  I currently am a Service Coordinator for individuals with developmental disabilities.  I meet with them regularly to assess their needs, help them develop and achieve goals, and connect them to resources and services as needed.  I do whatever I can to help them be as independent and productive and successful as possible.   At church, I am involved in other ministries to help serve the young adults and am in the process of setting up a homeless outreach.  I tend to put others needs ahead of my own most of the time (don’t get me wrong….I can be very selfish at times and am in no way saying I’m perfect).  So my hope is that I will be remembered as someone who cares about the needs of others and does all she can to help meet those needs and demonstrating a Christ-like attitude and demeanor while doing so.

“If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it” (Luke 9:23-24).

“He must become greater; I must become less.” (John 3:30)

Blog Buddies

Today, WordPress.com put it out there that two of their bloggers had teamed up to help each other out with their blogs, by encouraging each other and checking in with each other, to make sure that they were following their goal, whether it was the PostADay or PostAWeek challenge. They asked if anyone else wanted a “blog buddy” to post a comment and browse the other bloggers to find your own “blog buddy”.

I loved the idea of this for many reasons. #1 It will keep me accountable. I always say I am going to do things, and have the best intentions with keeping to what I said. But I know that if I don’t have anyone keeping me accountable, I can easily get off track. #2 It is a great way to meet other people and get inspiration, personally and for my own blog. #3 It also provides for additional traffic to my blog, and the blog of my buddy, and gives us opportunity to encourage and learn from each other.

So I happily accepted this proposition and ended up with a few blog buddies. Please check them out. They are listed over to the right under the Blog Buddy tab.