stress – part 2

Well yesterday I started the car shopping process. I went by myself at first, and started at one Honda dealer. I went with my list of questions and paperwork, and was convincing myself that this wouldn’t be so bad, and that if I was strong enough, I should be able to get what I want, or close to it. I spent about 2 1/2 hours there, with the guy trying to talk me into something that I wasn’t even there for. Overall the deal wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t the car I wanted.

My friend’s husband knew I was car shopping and called me right at the end of that appointment, and said he would be available in an hour to help me if I wanted. I told him I would meet him at his house and excused myself from the dealer. I went over to Will’s and explained what my current financial situation is and what I was looking for. We then went to a Toyota dealer near his house. Will had dealt with them before, but was a little cautious. We told them what we were looking for and didn’t want to waste the valuable daylight we had left with a lot of test driving and jabboring. We wanted to get straight to the numbers to see if it was even going to work. After an hour or so, we sat down with the dealer. We had him get the finance guy to come talk with us to make sure that we could do the “deal” just based on numbers, before running my credit, since I didn’t want to have it run at multiple places before knowing if even the selling price and payments would be workable. The guy verbally agreed, a couple of times even, then did the credit check. My credit was better than I had thought, and well above what he said it would need to be at for the deal. He comes back and tells us it would be another $50 above what he had quoted us monthly, PLUS tax,tags, fees, etc. A total lie from what he had agreed upon just a short time ago. We get to talking, more like arguing, and he keeps changing his story. He then says he will go get my key to my car, and comes back without my key and another ridiculous offer. He starts arguing with us and after a few minutes, finally went to get my key, and another bad offer. I demanded my key and walked out. He and his team then began calling my cell phone repeatedly, to which I hit ignore. They then called Will’s phone, after digging up his number from when he was there a few weeks ago, and harassing him.

I felt a little like I had been taken hostage and somewhat defeated as we went to the next dealer. This guy didn’t BS us and we were able to cut to the chase; but ultimately it didn’t work out. On to the fourth dealer, we were both really burnt out and it was going on the 8th hour of car shopping. Will had to get up early the next morning, so we kinda abruptly ended the meeting, letting the dealer know what I wanted and to start calculating numbers and to call me in the morning. I dropped Will off at home and thanked him for all his help. I could not have handled this on my own.

We are going back out there this afternoon after he is done with work. So far this morning, the Toyota head manager has called to apologize for his staff’s attitude and negative dealings from yesterday and would like for us to come talk with him….not sure yet if that will happen. On the one hand, it could mean a better deal for me, but on the other hand, there is something to be said for integrity and how you interact with others, which his staff clearly did not have. Hopefully today will be a better experience, and I might come home with a new car.

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

One response to “stress – part 2

Leave a Reply

