Patience

Patient – defined by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary as:
1 : bearing pains or trials calmly or without complaint
2 : manifesting forbearance under provocation or strain
3 : not hasty or impetuous
4 : steadfast despite opposition, difficulty, or adversity
5 a : able or willing to bear

Today, I had to practice the art of being patient. I had a scheduled appointment today at 11:00am. At 12:00, my name was finally called, and I was brought from the waiting room into the initial testing room, where the nurse did her standard tests and jotted down some notes and then walked me to the next room, where I was told the doctor would be right with me. It was nearly 2another hour and 15 minutes before the doctor came to my room, where she then spent 20 minutes with me, completing the exam and noting no changes.

I had thought ahead to bring a book with me to read figuring I might have to wait a short bit, but after awhile, it grew tiring, while my patience level was growing thinner and thinner. But while I was still waiting, I began thinking about God and his patience with us.

1 Timothy 1:16 (New International Version)
16But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.

God gives each of us free will; He doesn’t force himself upon us. He gives us time to choose Him, and he is always there for us, no matter how much we screw up or if we had turned away from him and them came back.

I was also reminded today that when you are a follower of God, he has some expectations of you:

Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

While I was reflecting on all of this, that is when the doctor came in, and the rest of my appointment went pretty quickly. At to top it off, I didn’t have to pay a co-pay and had no charges for my medical supplies at the end. I could have let my impatient self take over and put me in a bad mood and ruin the rest of the appointment, but instead, I chose to think about the ways God would have me act and use that time to read and to think about Him, and the rest of the appointment and my day turned out great!

Here’s a couple quotes I like about patience:

Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish. ~John Quincy Adams

Patience is the companion of wisdom. ~St. Augustine

Adopt the pace of nature: her secret is patience. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

2 responses to “Patience

Leave a Reply

