Commitment cards

The following was taken from a blog I had posted on my MySpace account 2 years ago (remember when people used MySpace…LOL). I don’t remember where I had originally gotten the post from. It was brought to my mind tonight when I was reflecting on how my life has changed in the last year and some possible upcoming changes and opportunities that I have to serve:

Matthew 19:27-29. “Peter answered Him, ‘We have left everything to follow You! What, then, will there be for us?’ Jesus said to them … ‘You who have followed Me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for My sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life.”

Peter is wanting to know what’s in it for him to follow Jesus. Contrast that with his original commitment to Jesus in Mark 1:17-18, “‘Come, follow Me,’ Jesus said, ‘and I will make you fishers of men.’ At once they left their nets and followed Him.'” There were no conditions, no footnotes, and no fine print. But now Peter’s concerned about houses and fields and closeness to his family.

Peter’s not alone. His mindset here uncovers a troubling tendency in our commitment to Christ. Unconditional commitment to Christ tends to become conditional. As our lives get more complex, as we accumulate more and accomplish more, we start to add little footnotes and conditions to what began as an ‘anything goes’ commitment to the Lord.

There was probably some time in your life when you opened yourself up totally to the Lordship of Jesus Christ. “It doesn’t matter where I live, how much money I make, what position I get, what I wear, what I drive, who goes with me.” But that can change. Now the Lord might be asking you to do something that might risk or change some of those parts of your life. Suddenly, you’re giving the Lord a contract with certain requirements – living in certain conditions, being near your family, keeping your position or some prized possessions, keeping a special person in your life, being comfortable. You’re saying, “Yes, Lord, but…” Added conditions. The word “but” cannot follow the word “Lord.”

Jesus assured Peter he was losing nothing any more than you lose the money you invest in a stock that later goes sky high. In fact, Jesus promises a reward 100 times any sacrifice you make. What a return! But that kind of reward is reserved for those who give Jesus a blank piece of paper, not a contract. “Even
with all I have now, Lord, and all I want, anything goes.”

What footnotes or conditions have you added to your once blank commitment card? My biggest one is trying to keep some semblance of control over my life and my “things”. Another big one for me is fear/lack of absolute trust; fear of the unknown, fear of making the wrong decision, how will this affect that, not trusting that all of my needs will be taken care of, etc. which I supposed really ties into control. I know that He is worthy of everything I have, of a no-strings-attached commitment from me. Yet sometimes it is so hard for me, and maybe for some of you. But not Jesus; he abandoned EVERYTHING for each of us. I hope that I can start letting go of my strings – control, fear, my “things”, etc. and start living with total abandon, with my only commitment being to Him, not to my self, my things, other people, and without my imposed conditions. Who’s with me? What will your commitment card say?

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

One response to “Commitment cards

Leave a Reply

