Accomplishments and Learning

What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

That was the topic for day 3 of the BlogADay2011 challenge.  I think that professionally, I had a few accomplishments, such as getting over my fears of public speaking and public performance.  I was asked by my supervisor to give a training/presentation to my unit regarding some upcoming changes that I have been involved with on a special committee.  That training went very well, and I was then asked to train additional units and new employees.   As for my fear of public performance, I got out of my comfort zone and learned how to play a eukele during our work Summer Beach Bash, and then played some percussion and sang during our work Christmas party, in front of a couple hundred people.  I also.  I continue to try to learn new things and grow professionally, and look forward to what I might accomplish professionally this year.

I also want to talk about important things I LEARNED in 2010.

The biggest thing was to treasure the time with your family and loved ones.  Some of you know that my grandfather passed away in April.  today would have been his birthday (83) and it is our first one without him, which kind of makes today’s post a little bittersweet.  He and my grandmother helped raise my sister and I when we were younger, and we have had a great relationship, though it has been tested through distance (he and my grandmother moved to Florida when they retired and I was a teenager still in NY).  I regret not making it more of a priority to visit more often, but I still treasure my memories with him and all the visits and conversations we have had.  It made me realize how short life is and not to take any moment of it for granted and I will be trying to keep in better touch with my loved ones.

I have also had some friendships that have fallen through the crack, based on misunderstandings or whatever. I have learned that I can only be responsible for my actions, words and thoughts, and cannot control their reactions or what they chose to believe as truth, no matter how misconstrued or wrong it is.  I can only try to remember the good times we had, and keep them in my prayers.

There there was the relationship lesson…lol.  Had a serious relationship recently, that ended very abruptly, with a lot of hurt.  I think God was trying to teach me to wait on Him and His timing, not to settle for anything less than His best, and above all else, to guard my heart and take things slow.  I have always had this time table and plans for my life, but God’s time table and plans are not always (actually hardly ever) the same as mine.  But I need to learn how to trust Him and that His plans are better than mine, and to let Him have the control.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

About Stacey

Life is a journey that I believe we are meant to walk together...so please Walk a Mile with me. View all posts by Stacey

One response to “Accomplishments and Learning

  • diane mann

    How neat that you had a good relationship with your grandfather, Stacey. Life is indeed so very sacred. God showed you lots in 2010, it seems, through some victories and some heartbreaks too. Hooray for the public speaking thing!! And the musical instrument thing!! That’s so neat! Must have been fun too! And letting go of the need to defend yourself and try to fix it all relationship-wise. That’s so hard when things get screwy re what others think and trying to convince, etc., etc.

    Now you have me thinking of the single accomplishment of 2010…it would be completing Year 1 of the SD training. I love it when God does stuff where you know it was Him helping you because there’s no way you could have on your own (your overcoming the public speaking thing is like that too).

    Grateful for the journey (and for you sharing yours with me and others:),

    Diane

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

